Back home in Paris, there’s a clematis coming into flower.

 

 

On the trellis around our shady balcony garden the Clematis armandii has to compete for light with the evergreen, shade tolerant star jasmine so it reaches upwards and outwards.  The clematis is laden with large panicles of flower buds on the outside of the trellis, visible only from the stair well window, and on the top, reaching for the sky.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Holding the camera above my head while standing on a chair opened up views I couldn’t see unaided.   Some photos, like the one above, put unexpected details in crisp focus, ignoring the focal point I’d have chosen if I could have seen what I was doing.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Another photo reminds me that the clematis is the foreground to an everyday view that is something out of the ordinary.

Click on any image for a closer view and a different perspective.